New Songs, Top 10 Song Lists and more - AOL Radio Blog

Top Metal Songs of 2009

As 2009 comes to a close, we've taken a look at the top 2009 metal songs, stemming from Berlin-based Rammstein, virtual band Dethklok and relative newcomers Five Finger Death Punch -- but without leaving out the original thrash heavyweights Megadeth and Slayer, who (since the '80s) have paved the way for many metal bands, even in the last year. So without further anticipation, here are our Top Metal Songs of 2009, as rated by AOL Radio listeners. Check them out -- they're headbang-worthy.
'Pray for Villains'
This top 2009 metal song was released as the first single off Devil Driver's fourth studio album. Lead singer Dez Fafara's influences include Johnny Cash, and Motörhead.
DevilDriver Pray For Villains
'Fake Messiah'
'Fake Messiah' is a single off Lamb of God's sixth studio album, 'Wrath.' The album went as high as No. 2 on Billboard 200, with sales exceeding 68,000 in its first week.
Lamb Of God Wrath
'This Continuum'
'This Continuum' is a song off Throwdown's sixth studio album, 'Deathless.' The album artwork for 'Deathless' was done by Demon Hunter vocalist Ryan Clark who has also done album art for Norma Jean, August Burns Red, Haste The Day and others.
Throwdown Deathless
'Head Crusher'
The first single off Megadeth's 12th studio album was released as a free download on the band's official site, after previously only being available if fans called a hotline to hear it. This top metal song of 2009 is about the medieval torture device of the same name, describing what it would do to the person placed under it.
Megadeth Head Crusher
'Rammlied' was a B-side on the German metal band's single release for 'Pussy.' An exclusive remix of the song is also available on iTunes, which can be found on Rammstein's sixth studio album 'Liebe ist für alle da,' which is German for "Love is there for everyone."
Rammstein Liebe Ist Fur Alle Dr
'Bloodlines' is featured on 'Dethalbum II,' the second full length album by virtual band Dethklok, from the animated sitcom 'Metalocalypse.' All of Dethklok's songs were written and composed by 'Metalocalyse' creator Brendon Small.
Dethklok Deathalbum II
'Hate Worldwide'
This top metal song of 2009 is a track from Slayer's 11th studio album, 'World Painted Blood.' The album has four different covers that when put together, create a world map covered in blood.
Slayer World Painted Blood
'No One Gets Left Behind'
'No One Gets Left Behind' is a track from Five Finger Death Punch's second studio album, 'War Is The Answer.' It debuted at No. 7 on the Billboard 200 selling approximately 44,000 copies in its first week.
Five Finger Death Punch War Is The Answer
'Beautiful And Strange'
'Beautiful and Strange' is a song from Mudvayne's upcoming self-titled album. On Oct. 7, Mudvayne revealed the song, which creates a mix of styles used in 'The New Game' and older albums as well. The self-titled album drops on Dec. 21, but you can download the three-song EP on iTunes.
'In Ashes They Shall Reap'
Featured on their fifth studio self-titled album, this No. 1 metal song of 2009 showcases the band's scream/sing vocal style. Frontman Jamey Jasta says for their album the band stayed true to what their fans know and love, mentioning, "[we]added a few brutal new ingredients and we're more than amped on the results. Violence is a given!"

Top 10 Radio Stations