New Songs, Top 10 Song Lists and more - AOL Radio Blog

Carly Rae Jepsen, 'Kiss' -- Album Review


Canadian pop star, Carly Rae Jepsen, is set to release her second studio album. 'Kiss' hits stores and digital outlets on September 18th, but we here at AOL Radio were able to snag an advanced copy to clue you in on the latest from one of 2012's biggest artists. As 'Call Me Maybe' is still doing well, and her featured appearance in Owl City's latest single, 'Good Time,' is rising up the charts, Carly Rae Jepsen's new album has lots of fans chomping at the bit to get their hands on it.

Before talking about Jepsen's remarkable voice, her catchy lyrics, or her well-designed/well-written songs, it's important to tip a hat to the producers who set up the album perfectly during mastering. The flow between the songs is remarkable and gives the entire album an extra splash of energy that really sets it over the edge. Things kick off with 'Tiny Little Bows' and 'This Kiss,' which both have a gradual build-up, but never deliver the punch to get the listener moving and hyped; A clever design to help 'Call Me Maybe' sound even better on the album than it did as a single. The same strategy is presented at the end of the album as well. Jepsen's ballad with Justin Bieber for the song 'Beautiful' really brings out the "lovey-dovey" side of Jepsen by slowing things down and creating an atmosphere where it's better to sit and listen than get up and dance. That mood is very short-lived though, as 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You' crashes back in and brings the high-tempo mood back to the album.

'Kiss' is an interesting album merely for the fact that there isn't a specific point that stands out on the album. Many artists have songs that highlight certain things such as their voice, their flow, their production, etc. Carly Rae Jepsen has found a happy medium for everything on her album. It's not until closer to the end where the production starts to kick in more. Things slow down with 'Beautiful' and 'Your Heart Is A Muscle,' which were the two songs that highlighted Jepsen's voice and feeling more than the others. The decision to include 'Good Time' on both Owl City and Jepsen's albums was a great idea. The collaboration fits very well and gives more flavor to Jepsen's album. Overall, all the different elements of the songs complement each other so well that it's nearly impossible to notice defining points in the song where one element is the star.

With her upcoming tour with Justin Bieber at the end of this month, Jepsen's 'Kiss' comes at the perfect time for the singer's career. After 'Call Me Maybe' became one of the best-selling digital songs of 2012 (2nd to Gotye's 'Somebody That I Used To Know'), Jepsen has become a household name. With the continuing success of 'Call Me Maybe' and her collaboration with Owl City for their song, 'Good Time,' Jepsen is still climbing the ladder of success, and will only continue to reach higher plateaus in her career. Check out the official tracklist for 'Kiss' below:

1. Tiny Little Bows
2. This Kiss
3. Call Me Maybe
4. Curiosity
5. Good Time (by Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen)
6. More Than A Memory
7. Turn Me Up
8. Hurt So Good
9. Beautiful
10. Tonight I'm Getting Over You
11. Guitar String / Wedding Ring
12. Your Heart Is A Muscle

'Kiss' is available in stores and digital outlets on September 18th. Fans can hear tracks from the album on AOL Radio's New Pop First beginning on September 18th.

Filed under: Pop, New Album Preview

Top 10 Radio Stations