Daft Punk, ‘TRON: Legacy’ Soundtrack — 2010 New Album Preview

On Dec. 7, Daft Punk will finally release their long-awaited new album, the official soundtrack for Disney’s ‘TRON: Legacy.’ The release of the record will officially put an end to over a year’s worth of rampant speculation, leaks, and anticipation. And, by all indications, it will introduce fans to a decidedly different side of the famed French electronic duo.

News of Daft Punk’s involvement on the score first broke in March 2009, when Reuters reported that the duo had signed on to score the sequel to the original ‘Tron’ movie, which featured a soundtrack composed by electronic music pioneer Wendy Carlos.

At the time, of course, the artistic direction of the new album remained unclear, but the union between the famed electronic duo and the sci-fi cult classic seemed like a match made in heaven. Instead of scoring the film with their characteristically synthesized sound, however, Daft Punk decided to take a classical approach to the soundtrack — literally.

The album, which represents Daft Punk’s first new material since 2005’s ‘Human After All,’ was recorded at London’s famed AIR Lyndhurst Studios, with a 90-piece orchestra and no synths. Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo, one half of the duo, explained that the decision to go classical was rooted primarily in Daft Punk’s desire to make the score truly transcend modern technology.

“Synths are a very low level of artificial intelligence, whereas you have a Stradivarius [violin] that will live for a thousand years,” the musician told Factmag.com.

Bandmate Thomas Bangalter added that the film’s complexity presented entirely new challenges in the recording studio, challenges that could only be met with a full orchestra.

“Coming from our background of making electronic music in a small bedroom, then ending up having our music performed by a 90-piece orchestra, we are lucky to have had the opportunity to experience some powerful moments artistically over the years, but recording this orchestra was a very intense experience.”

For now, fans will have to wait until Dec. 7 to get their hands on the full soundtrack, but according to the LA Times, radio station KCRW will hold a special soundtrack preview event this Saturday, featuring director Joseph Kosinski and KCRW music director Jason Bentley, who also served as the music supervisor of the film. KCRW will also stream all of the tracks on its site, beginning Nov. 29.

In the meantime, be sure to check out the full tracklisting below, and tune in to the Movie Tracks station on AOL Radio, where you can find all the latest tracks from today’s hottest movies.

Daft Punk, ‘TRON: Legacy’ Soundtrack Tracklisting

  1. Overture
  2. The Grid
  3. The Son Of Flynn
  4. Recognizer
  5. Armory
  6. Arena
  7. Rinzler
  8. The Game Has Changed
  9. Outlands
  10. Adagio For Tron
  11. Nocturne
  12. End Of Line
  13. Derezzed
  14. Fall
  15. Solar Sailer
  16. Rectifier
  17. Disc Wars
  18. C.L.U.
  19. Arrival
  20. Flynn Lives
  21. Tron Legacy (End Titles)
  22. Finale

Leave a Reply